Published first on jennyrebholz.com

This week I am the networking queen! Okay, so I am the princess, because my dearest friend, and former co-worker, Julie #1 (named as such because she started at our former place of employment first), is the queen, for SURE.

First, Julie #1 brings me to her networking group, Next Steps, held at the Sussex library every Wednesday (all are welcome, so come by if you are looking to network). I haven’t gotten up before 7:00 a.m. since the lay off, so that is a bit of a struggle. Thankfully, I make it on time and meet several new people, learn some new job-searching tricks and get some good advice.

Next, Julie #1 sets me up on a networking date. This is a new concept for me, but I go with it. Apparently she thought my date, Kristen, and I would hit it off and have connections to share with each other. So the two of us exchange a few emails and set something up for the next week.

Lastly, Julie #1 takes me to a beautiful house on Lac Labelle for a day of boating, eating and networking.  The host and all attendees are interior designers, or other industry professionals out of work. Though the day is cold and rainy and we never do make it on the boat, looking out on the lake from the comfort of a boathouse with a nice glass of white wine and some fabulous Greek cookies (thank you Sheila) is my idea of networking. To see so many experienced and talented designers out of work was a wee bit scary for me, as many of you might imagine. I mean, if they can’t find work right now, then who can? But at the same time, I saw how, when people come together and form new connections, that the opportunities really are endless.

In that one afternoon I heard some great stories, got some great ideas and learned some insider information that will perhaps be handy down the line. More important than any of those things, I saw where my career could go if I worked as hard and were as talented as any of those fabulous women. The day leaves me both hopeful and hopeless, and surely a wee bit tipsy and overstuffed.

All hail to the Queen!

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

Leave a Reply

