It was time for a taste of my own medicine. Last week I was writing the rejection letters. This week I was receiving them. And oh, there were many…

Dear Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to pursue a position with Epic. While we respect your achievements and appreciate your interest in applying, we’ve decided after careful consideration to move forward with other candidates.

We are unable to share details regarding our decision; however we’ll keep your resume and other information on file in the event that our needs change and an appropriate position becomes available. We wish you success in your career.

Sincerely,

Human Resources

Thank you for your candidacy for the position of Interior Design Instructor and for your patience while waiting for our response.

Following the Committee’s careful consideration of all candidates, we have selected another candidate whose background more closely meets our needs at this time.

We want to express our gratitude for your interest, and for giving us the opportunity to review your qualifications. We encourage you to apply for future positions that fit your qualifications and interests.  All administrative, faculty, and support staff openings are posted on our website: http://jobs.fvtc.edu.

Again, thank you for your interest in FVTC.  We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

Dear Julie,

Thank you for your interest in Kohl’s Department Stores.

On behalf of Kohl’s, we would like to thank you for taking the time to explore career opportunities with us. It is always a pleasure when career-minded individuals express an interest in working for our company.

We have given your background and qualifications careful consideration in relation to the opportunity for which you expressed interest and have determined that we are unable to match your qualifications at this time.

Although we do not have other current openings that match your expertise or career aspirations, we would like to remain in contact and consider you for future possibilities as Kohl’s continues to grow.

Your candidate profile will be retained in our database for future opportunities.  Please visit http://www.kohlscareers.com for a list of current openings and to sign-up for e-mail job updates.

We wish you continued success in your career endeavors.

Sincerely,

Kohl’s Department Stores
Human Resources

www.kohlscareers.com

So how does one deal with so much rejection in one week? This is a question I can’t answer yet, for I am still trying to figure that out. I try to remain positive and be thankful for the opportunity to apply for these positions at all (some people are not so lucky). I continue with my networking and scouring of the internet for new postings.

All you can do is hope that next week there are two rejections rather than three, one call back rather than zero, and perhaps one new job posted to apply for.

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

4 responses »

  1. Mark Schmudlach says:

    Strange how this unemployment rollercoaster works. Two positions that I thought I had were rejected because 1. They wondered if I would be happy with a job that paid ‘only’ $22.00 an hour! 2. I was too qualified to take a position that paid $24.00 an hour!

    Funny thing is that after 9 months of hitting the bricks I settled for a position 3 weeks ago that paid $18.00 an hour just to be employed.

    One would think that I would disqualify myself if a job was beneath me. That is just plain strange.

  2. Joyce Altman says:

    Hey, Julie. Your writing skills are marvelous. I enjoyed reading as much as I enjoyed meeting you. I’m looking for contacts for you. Betsy & Mike say hello.

  3. Mz. 4.0 says:

    Hey when you got rejected from Epic, did you have any interviews or was that just from your resume being submitted?

Leave a Reply

