No, not the creation of the universe… scrambled eggs!

Through a networking event I attended downtown Milwaukee, I came in contact with several veteran technical writers and was invited to join them for one of their weekly lunch get-togethers. I was intrigued, I mean here I was trying to be a writer and even applying for several technical writing positions and I didn’t know the first thing about technical writing. I enthusiastically agreed to meet them.

Lunch fell through a few times and finally we arranged, between the four of us, a time that would work for a Saturday morning breakfast meeting. Destination: Genesis on HWY 100.

The day arrived and I braved torrential downpours to get from my Pewaukee abode to our agreed upon breakfast establishment. I was invigorated. Not only was I meeting some new people (which I love to do), but I was getting to partake in one of my favorite activities in the world, eating breakfast.

Visions of pancakes, eggs, hash browns, and black coffee danced through my head as I ran from my car, crouched under my ever-sporty Brewers umbrella (circa 1982). After some short introductions the four of us proceeded to discuss writing, unemployment, education, background, sustainability and even the galaxy all over some scrumptious morning treats. What a great way to start the weekend! My trepidations about leaving the design industry were quelled a bit, as I started to understand the many possible paths my career could take.

Thank you to Tim, Paul and Jim for you company and your guidance!

Lesson learned: always say yes to breakfast with strangers.

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

Leave a Reply

