After two-weeks of deep unemployment depression I found myself standing in the print shop where I used to work when I was 18 years old, waiting to speak to the owner about a part-time job.

Although ExecuPrint had moved from downtown Hartland to a bigger place off HWY 83, it was still reminiscent of the old shop. T-shirts hung from the walls, my dad’s little display for doggie nametags sat on the counter, the back room was a mess (pretty normal) and Steve somehow looked the same. As he finished helping a customer, I thought about how I got here… again. Almost ten years had gone by and somehow here I was: broke, moving back in with the folks and going to work for Steve. Was I in a video game? It was like I had hit reset and ended up right back at the beginning of the level again.

Part of me couldn’t help but see the humor in this… I mean, how many people actually get a “do over” in life? The only issue: I didn’t actually get to go back in TIME ten years, so my do over wasn’t completely fair. I mean, if I had to start over, shouldn’t I get that time back?

Steve finally finished with his customer and informed me that he had hired a high school student and I was off the hook. A HUGE wave a relief flooded over me. I mean, yeah, extra cash would have been nice, but this whole do over thing was really unsettling.

At least now I could go about my unemployment business feeling like I was 28 and not 18 again, and that was worth more to me than a few extra bucks!

Anyone in need of signs, shirts, brochures, business cards, etc… go see Steve!!

Execu Print

114 W Capitol Dr

Hartland, WI 53029-2042

(262) 560-4242

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

One response »

  1. Rodney Cooley says:

    Hello,

    I just found your blog and I hope that things turn around for you.

    I’m basically in the same boat as you (well, different field, different place in life, but unemployed).

    My wife and I are doing a blog about it at http://rodneysjobquest.wordpress.com.

    Again, best of luck to you.

Leave a Reply

