Inspired and rejuvenated after my weekend away, I decided on my return from the Driftless region to hit the pavement hard. And boy did I ever!

I attended a panel on how to be a successful woman on Wednesday morning. I consulted with a fabulous marketing professional (thanks, Liz) about my resume and portfolio Wednesday evening. I kvetched with a former classmate about our unemployment status Thursday over some butterscotch martinis. Friday I lunched with three other J’s I used to work with down at Beans and Barley (one of my favorite restaurants in town). I hit up the starving artist show at Mount Mary College over the weekend, and topped that off with some football. Monday I attended a Renewable Energy & Energy Efficiency job seekers meeting. Wednesday I headed to Madison for a networking opportunity with two veteran designer/dealer sales professionals at Target Commercial Interiors and then headed back to Milwaukee for a FUEL social that evening.

And I was packing for my upcoming move, submitting resumes for several different positions advertised last week (one which took me ten hours to refine and send off), and baking the most delicious dulce de leche bars ever.

Somewhere in the midst of all this activity I managed to read my odometer and was in shock. I had driven 586 miles… since last week TUESDAY! Holy gas guzzling, batman! This past week had felt a wee bit hectic as it was happening, but I had no idea. As a member of the unemployed masses, I have only a certain amount of money allocated for fuel, and so though I am not even close to done with my pavement pounding, someone else is going to be driving me around (at least tonight as I head to Detour for a design event).

But all the driving was worth it, I hope. I made some great contacts between Madison, Milwaukee and beyond. I obtained some great advice and guidance regarding my personal brand, resume formatting and portfolio organization. I managed to catch up with old friends and eat great food. And only ONE rejection letter this week. Woohoo!

Let’s just hope I don’t physically travel another 600 miles next week!

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

One response »

  1. Aga says:

    Glad to see the positive attitude back! You are doing awesome….all your efforts will pay off in the end.

Leave a Reply

