In the early years of my journey as an interior designer, I was allowed to select some paint colors for my parent’s house. They were such encouraging and supportive parents (see week 15) who subsequently gave me free reign with the design. Keep in mind that this was back in the days when Trading Spacing was a huge break-out hit, and I hadn’t yet enrolled in design school. As you might imagine, the result was… bright.

Very bright.

My younger brother, who was around 17 years old when the house was revamped, told me after the painting was complete, “It’s like a crack-head Christmas in here.” At the time I was offended. I mean, what is wrong with watermelon red and lime green paint in one room? Nothing, I suppose, if you exist inside Alice’s looking glass. Or, if you know how to put those two colors together in a less obtrusive manner. But, I did not yet know how to do that.

This Monday I moved back in with my parents (oh how I love being unemployed and single). My superhuman, and super hot, moving men from Hernia Movers (Milwaukee) did a phenomenal job, but the first thing one of them said to me as he entered the front door to my Hartland abode was… “wow, bright colors.”

Duh.

It’s all slightly embarrassing to my oh-so-older and wiser veteran commercial interior design self, who loves her shades of grey. But there is a lesson here… I think?

Don’t paint your parent’s house lime green because you might have to move back in someday?

No, I think it is something more like: We definitely learn and grow as professionals. And education is super important!

So, here I sit within the walls of my inexperience. But you know what, it’s okay. My parents still love it. As long as the client is happy, right?

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

2 responses »

  1. jlh922 says:

    ALL that matters is that the client is happy! It’s about what THEY want. I helped my parents redecorate their bathroom in full 80’s regalia: geometric patterns, brushstrokes, black/white/mauve/blue. It was impressive.

  2. mom says:

    Can’t bring myself to change the colors. Oh..the memories of high school friends in the living room. I remember the comment about painting little black dots on the green and we could have chocolate chip ice cream walls. I love the colors. Life is dull enough.

Leave a Reply

