When I was six years old (and in first grade) we had a “get to know you” day at school. Each student had to stand up in front of the class and talk about her favorite food, favorite color and, among other things, what she wanted to be when she grew up.

Do you know what I said that day? I bet you are thinking I told them all I wanted to build cubicles, right? Or perhaps, I said I wanted to be an “architect,” or “designer.”

Well, no. In fact, I told the class I wanted to be… an artist.

And when I was ten years old, my Grandmother, a professional writer, sent me my first journal as a birthday present, I decided I also wanted to be a writer, just like her.

Through the years, my favorite color is still blue, my favorite food is still enchiladas, and these two passions of mine, the visual arts and the literary arts, have never left me. I am an artist. I am a writer. And I know quite a bit about office furniture now, as well (which I just know will come in handy again someday)!

Last week I was fixated on the uninvited prospect of giving up my career, but this week I was given the opportunity to remember why I even fell into that career in the first place. That opportunity, my friends, was, and is: Feed Your Soul.

This fantastic event, held in Milwaukee at Flux Design every year, gives artists the chance to create unique 2D and 3D works of art and simultaneously give back to the community. Each work is donated by the artist and is then auctioned off to raise money for Feeding America Eastern Wisconsin.

This year I decided I wanted to create a multimedia piece that chronicled my unemployment “adventures,” and in the process I experienced a re-awakening of my artistic ability. For so long I have been working hard, focusing on my career, dreaming about AutoCAD and CAP while at the same time attending school, reading Shakespeare and writing research papers. I estimate that it has been at least four, if not more, years since I have even picked up a pencil to sketch, let alone paint!

I had almost forgotten how much I loved to create. And damn did working on this project feel GREAT!

Not that I wouldn’t trade painting all day for a steady job, steady paycheck and a place of my own… but this week, for the first time in a while, I forgot about how much unemployment can get a girl down and I remembered how to feel inspired.

Feed Your Soul managed to feed MY Soul.

Now, all you Milwaukeeans out there make sure to attend the event, buy some art and donate to a good cause! If you want a teaser, here you go:

All my unemployment souvenirs...

All my unemployment souvenirs...

The overlay begins...

The overlay begins...

Umbrella?

Umbrella?

Come to event on November 6th to see the final product!

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

4 responses »

  1. Peter says:

    Your “unemployment” dilemma may in fact be the reinventing of your life as you come to a better appreciation for the “Soul” issues of life.

    Don’t lose hope – sunshine will shine again

  2. Erin says:

    I’m not in Milwaukee … but I want to see a pic of the finished product! best of luck…

  3. Melissa says:

    Wow… Completely impressed with your writing, your artistry, and your outlook with this opportunity to give back.

    I hope that the path your life takes is more fulfilling than you imagined!

  4. Good Luck on your job search Julie. It’s tough out there for any interior designer, even those of us who are independent and “depend upon the kindness of strangers ” (for our next job)!

Leave a Reply

