Well, I managed to come down with a teeny, tiny cold this past week. Aside from causing me to miss two (fabulous, I’m sure) Halloween parties, it didn’t do too much physical damage. However, because of this cold, my “week” off turned into a week and a half. My friends, when you over extend your vacation from job searching a few things start to happen.

  1. You watch way too much Law and Order. By the end of the week, I started thinking I wanted to be a cop. I mean, I like solving puzzles, so why not? Fighting crime could be fulfilling… for a designer?
  2. You forget to talk to people. I wasn’t emailing or calling potential employers or contacts (the nasal voice would have frightened them, I’m sure), and so I stopped calling the rest of my network. Thank goodness for my parents (yes, I actually said that) or I may have forgotten how to speak entirely!
  3. You start to dwell. The lack of human contact and the misery of illness can cause a person to succumb to negative thoughts. I’m a loser, I live with my parents, I’ll never find a job…etc. This is BAD, very bad, and sometimes it happens without your consent.

By Sunday night I felt much better (in spite of the Packers loss to the Vikings)… and I realized I was going to have to get back on the job search wagon come Monday. I was depressed, and negative, and didn’t want to do that AT ALL. But I had scheduled an appointment for first thing Monday morning…

And you know what, people? My meeting was fantastic (despite a brain crushing headache and an initial lack of motivation at 7 am). The interaction inspired me, not only on a professional level but on a personal level as well. I met and talked with a successful, smart and professional woman who was willing to share her experiences and insights with me. She gave me advice, and the whole interaction reminded me how important these one-on-one meetings really are in the process of searching for that dream job. And so, I felt rejuvenated, and also made it to a much-neglected networking group that very afternoon.

Tuesday rolled around and I headed to another meeting with yet another fabulous, successful and sharp woman who introduced me to her industry, shared with me some great stories about her career journey and offered me her own advice and suggestions.

I had somehow managed to tackle both my sniffles and my struggles, and dive headfirst back into the job search. Week 21 ended with several new contacts in my notebook, new ideas, inspirations and goals for next week (and of course, many new resumes sent out). What I learned, was that only I can fight back against the negativity. I have to force myself out there, and look at my search as objectively as I can. This is exceedingly difficult (don’t get me wrong), but as I learned this week, it can be done.

On another note, it’s time for me to share with you, my virtual friends, the final art piece I have since donated to the Feed Your Soul event (see week 18). Local readers, come this Friday and bid on some artwork to help feed the Hungry in Milwaukee!!

Adventures in Unemployment

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

One response »

  1. Kelly Ugrich says:

    Yet another great post, Julie! Hopefully your “positivity umbrella” of good friends and great contacts will keep you going during the dark and rainy times. Such symbolism! 🙂

Leave a Reply

