Barbie's Cookies

Barbie's Cookies

Follow a 71-year-old retiree; his unemployed daughter and recently unemployed wife as they try to survive another Wisconsin winter huddled together in a 1,200 square foot home in the middle of suburbia. Watch them as they fight about the setting of the thermostat, who gets to park in the garage and whether or not the should watch So You Think You Can Dance or NCIS on Tuesday evenings.

Doesn’t this sound like a fabulous new reality TV show? No? You think you might die of boredom watching this? Well, I agree with you. And guess what? This is MY life. That’s right, folks, as week 26 came to a close my mother lost her job. So here I am, living with my parents at the ripe old age of 28 in order to save some money and maintain some level of flexibility in my job search, and now it seems like not only does this help me, but my additional contributions may help them as well. And this would all be quite karmic and all that, aside from that fact that we may all kill each other by the time this ends.

My mom needs to adjust to being home all day. If she doesn’t stop baking cookies every day I WILL gain 10 MORE pounds (adding to the 10 lbs already gained do to my unemployment depression binges).

My dad needs to adjust to having her home all day (he just got used to my presence in his daily routine, now he needs to account for yet another person)

I need to adjust to having both of them here, ALL THE TIME, with my only refuge a tiny 10X10 room, and a small coffee shop down the street (I suppose I could go to the library…)

We all need to adjust to the fact that this may go on for a pretty significant length of time.

America needs to adjust to the fact that there are three people in this house, living solely off the government, and only one of them is doing so by choice. I mean, it’s actually quite funny if you have any kind of a sense of humor. None of us are working. How is this possible???!!! And I won’t go into all of the qualifications the three of us possess, but they are vast and extremely impressive.

So that is that. I smell cookies…. Mmmmm.

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

2 responses »

  1. Melissa says:

    And you are retaining your sense of humor! This is good 🙂 I hope all the family bonding doesn’t get to be too overwhelming for you.

    You know you have my continued good thoughts as you navigate the job search. Let me know if you need anything.

Leave a Reply

