I really hate this part.

The waiting.

Anyone who knows me can attest to the fact that I absolutely hate waiting. I have a great friend who suffers from a syndrome I like to call chronic late-itis. For a while there, I started telling her to be places about a half hour before she really needed to show up, so I could ensure that no one (especially me) had to wait. Now, when she’s running behind she’ll often call me up and say, “Please tell me this is one of those times you said 3:00 but really meant 3:30.”

I hate waiting for a boy to call. Usually I just track him down and call him first, which I know breaks all the dating rules put forth by the geniuses that wrote He’s Just Not That Into You, and could explain why I’m still single. There was one incident in which I called someone repeatedly for approximately eight hours, so tired was I of waiting to receive a call back. Granted the circumstances were extenuating (like not knowing if said someone was alive or dead in a ditch somewhere), but still, even I can see that this kind of behavior was excessive.

In general, the past year has been one giant waiting game. First I was waiting for the layoff to happen. Now I wait for a phone call telling me to come in for an interview, or I wait for a rejection letter to arrive in my inbox. I wait for someone to let me know whether or not I’m still in the running for a position I have interviewed for. I just wait…all the time.

I recently went through the interview process with three very different companies for three very different positions. All of them are good options for me. All of them afford me different opportunities. And I am waiting to hear back… from all of them.

And since I have never been very good at waiting (see above examples) I handle this by… not waiting. I keep interviewing. I keep searching, networking, reaching out to and setting up coffee dates with interesting new people. I apply for more jobs. I do yoga. I teach myself Indesign. I look at my GRE book and think about studying (though I haven’t actually been able to open it yet).

I suppose all of this waiting will eventually make me a more patient person, right? And that would be a very good thing.

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

3 responses »

  1. Chap says:

    hahahahahahaha

  2. Erin says:

    I hate waiting too. your examples seem perfectly normal to me. I hope you hear back soon!

  3. Melissa says:

    Your strategy of not waiting to hear back is good. Especially with the behavior that some companies have shown of not ever getting back to candidates one way or another, waiting could end up working against you.

    I think you have developed a great deal of patience with the process you have had to go through. Hopefully one of the companies you have interviewed with will be the right one!

Leave a Reply

