After spending an extended weekend in Chicago, complete with an interview at the Merchandise Mart Monday afternoon, I came down with the plague. Okay, so I know it wasn’t H1N1 or anything, but it was pretty nasty.

On my way home from Chicago my throat started to hurt. I figured it was just fatigue and some dehydration after the stress of an interview and the slight binge drinking I partook in that Saturday night. Alas, I was wrong. By the next morning my glands were the size of golf balls and I was running a fever. So, of course, that is when I got the call back from the company I interviewed with in Chicago.

So soon after the interview! I was super excited and figured I must have really impressed them! On the flip side, I was achy, un-showered, swollen and could hardly speak. Despite the fact that I sounded a bit like Darth Vadar, I decided to call them back and explain how sick I was, but indicate that I still wanted to move forward with the interview process.

And so, on day two of my illness (the most agonizing day) I had a 4:00 pm phone interview with HR and the training department. What I learned from this experience is that when your sick your mind doesn’t quite work. The synapses don’t fire, and your words become twisted. And thus, I BOTCHED my interview. I’m pretty sure, in between clearing my throat of excessive flem and talking about AutoCAD I told the two nice ladies I was speaking with that I didn’t think I was a good fit for the job.

Eeek!

If only I could have eaten my words. Sure, perhaps the job was less than perfect for me, being the social butterfly that I am (it was mostly CAD work in a small three person office). However, I would have been able to space plan and use AutoCAD again, I would have worked in the Merchandise Mart (essentially the biggest interior design showcase in the nation), and I would have been able to move out of my parent’s house!

Through this experience, I learned a valuable lesson. Never agree to do an interview when you are sick. Sniffles, sure, go for it. Some sneezing… no big deal. But trying to put on your game face when you are in the midst of the black plague is just NOT going to work.

Needless to say, I didn’t get the job. Maybe it worked for the best, considering I hate the Chicago Cubs, but because of my botched interview I shall never know.

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

Leave a Reply

