Week 37: An Unexpected Job Offer

Earlier this week, I received a very disappointing (though thoughtful) rejection letter from a local college I had interviewed with; yet another staggering blow to my ever-fragile ego, one that, though somewhat expected, prepared me to throw in the towel on the job search for a while. And so, I decided to sell all my worldly possessions and move to Africa. Then, out of the blue, I got a phone call from the director of the department at the college I had interviewed with, the same person who had written the very genuine “thanks, but no thanks” letter. She re-emphasized how difficult it was to decide which candidate to hire for the full time position and then proceeded to offer me a part time job.

I was totally caught off guard. Not only because I had already been told I didn’t get the position, but also because she was so enthusiastic about my abilities. Her compliments were absolutely essential in keeping me in the job search game. I needed someone to say, “we think you’re great!” and “we want you in our department even though you don’t have all the experience we thought necessary!”

After eight long months of rejection, I was finally told that I had potential to grow into something more. And so, though not a permanent or full time position (nor one that allows me the income I need to LEAVE my parent’s house), I accepted the job.

So, I’m half way there. I will be gaining experience in the field I want to enter and at the same time working with great people who were willing to take a chance on little ‘ol me.

The lesson here is that you just never know who you’re going to leave an impression on with your resume, portfolio or interviewing skills; and though you may not get the job you WANT you might just get the job you NEED at the time.

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

One response »

  1. Melissa says:

    Exciting stuff, Julie! Congratulations on that break. I have no doubts about this leading to wonderful things for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

