Contributed By Shannon Cooper

Like so many others in the design field, I lost my job this past September and now I’m often asked “what are you doing?” or “what are you up to?”  This becomes, in a sense, a trick question to someone who’s unemployed.  Let me explain…

In the six months since I lost my job I have accomplished a lot.  You’re probably all wondering what “a lot” means.  For starters, you all know that household “to do” list you never seem to have the time to get done, or when you get a little time it doesn’t seem like much was accomplished?  Ah yes, I remember the days in the life of a full time employee.  All those little things like cleaning out the closets, cleaning the basement, cleaning the garage, sorting through the toys your kid doesn’t play with anymore, organizing files on your computer, cleaning off your computer, going through your filing and organizing it, sorting through and donating all those unused items in your house, fixing all those little things that needed fixing.  Those things have long been accomplished since September.  So now what does one do?

Let’s start with the usual daily stuff; I try to work out everyday, either walking/biking or at home to one of my many fitness DVD’s.  I plan dinner and sometimes that means it’s prepped and slowly cooking by 9am.  I check what all my friends and extended friends are doing on Facebook.  Meticulously keep a clean house; this has become an issue for my husband since I’ve become obsessive compulsive about with all of this free time.

Now, the day to day, weekly, monthly, as time slips by in the duration of my joblessness;   My bills are all planned and paid once a month, my online banking is in check weekly.  Weekly unemployment job searches which consists of surfing through numerous websites.  Then there is the self promoting/marketing and follow up, for my artwork and contract design.  Then there is the constant design and redesign, (on my free version of AutoCad) of my bathroom, home office and basement that all need remodeling.  With these big dream designs (and soda pop money) comes estimating costs for each of the above remodels down to the last drawer pull and gallon of paint.

What else have I taken on?  I started planning a class reunion.  Found a new hobby: reusing old “stuff” in my home, for example, I’m stripping and staining some old shelving to make a contemporary desk.  This may even go as far as fixing up and restoring old furniture, including tackling the potential reupholstering of an old chair I have sitting around.  Let’s not forget sewing all those buttons on everyone’s clothes and much needed curtains for my kitchen.

I can’t wait for the grass to start growing so I can fill more voided time with mowing the lawn and gardening.  So by the time my hubby gets home from work, WE can sit on the patio and enjoy a beer together.

Oh, and as a side note, I do have side jobs that keep me busy, a contract interior design project here and there and custom artwork as it finds its way to me.

I’d love to say my scrapbooks are up to date but I just can’t find the energy for that.

Free version of AutoCad to unemployed interior designers:

http://students6.autodesk.com/?nd=assistance_home&lbon=1

Cooper’s Artwork www.coopersartwork.blogspot.com

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

One response »

  1. Melissa says:

    Great post, Shannon! It sounds like you’ve made a lot of good choices that keep things balanced and continues the forward movement.

Leave a Reply

