Oh freelancing, how I love thee and hate thee. Let me count the ways.

I love that I can set my own hours, that I can spend a Friday night writing copy or managing four (soon to be five) twitter accounts. I love that I can sit on my patio and design a postcard, or have a conference call on a Saturday. I love that my efficient nature allows me to get a lot done in a short amount of time and I am sure my client’s appreciate the great value they are getting because of that.

The problems with freelancing are: You need to be FREE to Lance. Or rather, you need to make THE time. And Time, my friends, with two jobs, and four freelance projects, has become scarce. I feel as though I have no time to actually tackle my many projects to the best of my ability, or more importantly to watch So You Think You Can Dance on a Thursday night without feeling guilty! Sometimes I struggle to get motivated, even though I know my work directly correlates with a paycheck.

It is an ever challenging job—that of the freelancer. I am curious how others in this situation handle these same challenges…

Thoughts?

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

Leave a Reply

