Guest blog by Shannon Cooper

After being officially unemployed for over a year now, I have a pretty large folder of rejection letters…  well, not really, since I don’t actually save them.  However, I have some general thoughts and advice to those in management or human resources positions that do follow this blog.

Being unemployed for any length of time is hard enough, finding an interior design job in this economy is even harder. Rejection letters are first and foremost, in a sense, appreciated, since most companies don’t even send them anymore.  The point I’m trying to make here is, although rejection letters are hard to write,  and hard for us job-seekers to receive, the effort which you put forth to write one means something. The letter can and should be thoughtful and professional. I especially appreciate the heartfelt, sincere, and “custom” per say, rejection letter.  Acknowledging my name somewhere other than the address block, or referencing a strong quality I presented, is a little softer blow.  I can appreciate that form of rejection letter and let down so much easier than when the rejection letter isn’t so… generic, and my address block wasn’t just inserted.

Personally, I would prefer not to see anymore rejection letters (meaning, I actually got the job)! For now, I want to thank to those of you writing personal rejection letters and taking the time to do so.

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

2 responses »

  1. Murtaza says:

    Well that is a good point you raised.Liked your article. I have been following your blog and for sometimes it makes my day but then there are few things which makes me ponder upon. I will be starting my diploma course in Interior Design and Architecture from Cavendish College London in January 2011. I’ll be totally shifting my career path as I have bachelors in Commerce but always had a dream of pursuing my childhood passion. You said jobs are really hard to get in this field which kind of makes me think deep but then again If there is a will there WILL be a way. Thank you very much

  2. The site is really fascinating, keep writing amazing content.

Leave a Reply

