Literally. I am 30,000 feet above ground right this moment, on my way to Phoenix, AZ. And it seems, my friends, that I’ve finally found time to reflect on the past few months. So while I am 30,000 feet above ground I am able to share a 30,000 foot view of…well, my new life.

Starting a new job is always stressful, as is going through a career change. Trying to navigate through both after a year and three months of unemployment, well, that is quite a challenge. There have been the usual adjustments to make, you know, waking up before 8am, trying to fit into clothes I bought a year ago, making lunches and trying to stay fairly active even though I sit at a desk all day.  Then there was getting the feel for a new company, the people, environment, expectations… and for me there has been a bit of travel. So, there were airports and planes and GERMS (sorry, hypochondriac moment) and hotels, and way too much restaurant food.

So, now, 10 pounds later, and four months into my new career I feel like I am getting the hang of this whole “working” thing again. I have finally been able cast my fishing line and set some goals (see week 27: Five Year Plan).  I have been able to dig a small tunnel out of the hole of debt I found myself in this year.  I have been able to learn and grow as a professional and person, and for me that is probably the most important thing.

As of late, I’ve been able to reflect on my experiences as an unemployed interior designer in some new and interesting ways (which I plan to share with you in due time). I have also discovered that it’s oh-so-easy, once working again, to forget all those out there still struggling to find a decent job, and so I am trying to make more of an effort to stay abreast of what is happening in, not only this industry, but in the national and global market as a whole. Because when 300 people lose their job, because a local paper manufacturer shuts down, it impacts us all.

So there you have it, folks. A 30,000 foot view of my life as I know it at this moment. Stay tuned for more brilliant insights.

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

One response »

  1. Carol says:

    I am definitely interested in learning more and reading about suggestions for
    unemployed and underemployed designers. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

