Today I spent some time reflecting on where I was one year ago. It was a pretty dark place, February of 2010, right before I took on my part time jobs, and in the midst of my lowest low of the job searching experience. Let me share this very personal journal entry from last February:

“Well I have hit a new low. I was rejected from the job I wanted — apparently they changed their minds about wanting to continue interviewing me. I think that I should just give up sometimes. Nobody will hire me. It’s been eight months since I lost my job. I don’t like living with Ronny and Barbie. I totally BLEW my phone interview with another company yesterday because I was sick and unable to BS my way through the questions. I know that all my friends think there is something wrong with me. ALL of these thoughts are against the “positive” thinking my STUPID self-help book tells me to do, so I can’t even do that right. I can’t even THINK the right way. I wish this were a video game and I could use up my lives and start the level over.”

I share this not to depress you, my readers, but to give you hope. I felt like giving up so many times. My confidence was at an all-time low. I didn’t see a way out. I’m not saying the road to recovery is easy (or fast), but I did find my way. I eventually found my path, I found a decent and inspiring job. I made it.

So can you.

And you’re never alone, because we have all been there. At that lowest point, when McDonalds seems like your only career alternative. But it’s not. So hang in there!

XOXO

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

2 responses »

  1. I don’t even have the words to express how awesome this post is. Hearing stories like this is a huge help to job seekers to help break down the walls of isolation. In the economy that we have experienced, more people than we even know have endured or are going through the same thing.

  2. Leigh Ann Harris says:

    I really needed this post today. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

