As so many of my fellow unemployed friends know, it’s hard to be thankful sometimes, and it’s oh-so-easy to sink into modes of anger, self pity, and depression as we are hit with bills, rejection and isolation during these seemingly endless months of unemployment. I find myself feeling these emotions on a daily basis, but today I want to give thanks, because, as miserable as I sometimes feel in these times if hardship I do have much to be thankful for.

I am thankful for my parents. Yes, I sometimes feel the edges of my sanity fading into oblivion as I spend countless hours sulking in my childhood bedroom, or watching movies at 10:00 am with my retired father. However, without my parents I would be stuck in a lease right now, draining my savings account, talking to myself as I slowly lose my mind from lack of human contact. They were kind enough to see that though none of us would choose this living arrangement, I needed a place to stay while I looked for a job. I needed a place to store my things, a place that I could up and leave at the drop of a hat if I somehow found work out of state. This temporary living situation is making things more manageable for me. And so, though it is not always ideal, it’s the most financially responsible thing to do right now and I am so thankful that they (now empty nesters) were willing to allow me back into their home… for an indefinite period of time. And they sometimes feed me.

I am thankful for my friends. These last twenty-five weeks would have been agony without the great friends I have in my life. Thank you for the random phone calls, the emails saying hello, for getting together and sharing a meal, for spontaneous nights out on the town, and for trips to Miami… these events are my reminders of what’s important in life. Thank you for understanding what I am going through, and if you really don’t understand at all… thank you for at least trying, and for not judging me. Without you (my friends) I would be lost.

I am thankful to be a part of my Goddaughter’s life. I’m not the “mothering” type, but being actively engaged in her life is more rewarding than I ever could have imagined. I love seeing her grow, change and learn new things. When she calls me up and says, “I love you Auntie Chap,” I just melt. And she motivates me, in her own way, to find work so that I can open an education savings account!!

I am thankful that I’m single. GASP… did she just say that? Yes. I did. Don’t get me wrong; I have my moments, in which I miss having a partner, or long to meet someone new. Especially after I go to see New Moon and watch half-clothed young hotties romp around the wilderness. But, for more than just the obvious reasons (that my close friends know and understand), I am thankful to be on my own right now. Being unemployed is stressful, and as many of you know, puts stress on ALL of your relationships. I am thankful I don’t have to put this stress on my partner. I can sulk and hate my life in peace, and I can be rejected time and time again without having to worry about my partner asking me why, or failing to understand how hard it is right now to find work.

I am thankful for television. Okay, seriously, does this deserve to be on the list? Absolutely! What got me through my breakup this year? Watching Weeds. What got me through feeling completely isolated as I was living on a farm in the middle of nowhere? Watching Dexter (for 12 hours straight). Right now I have been watching old Gilmore Girls episodes… and they make me laugh. And that is a GOOD thing. It may sound cheesy, but these moments of preoccupation really help me. I’m not an athlete, who would maybe turn to jogging or something. Yoga can only do so much. I don’t really feel justified in taking up a new hobby (because it costs money), so I am thankful for television. And anyone who has known me for a long time will not be surprised by these sentiments at all!

I am thankful I have legs (Chap, that one’s for you).

So my dear friends, even if you feel like you have nothing, you probably have SOMETHING to be thankful for. So, go forth, give thanks, and eat Turkey (unless you are a vegetarian like myself).

Happy Thanksgiving!

About jewliweb

I used to be an interior designer, now I'm in marketing. But I have always been jewliweb.

3 responses »

  1. Melissa says:

    You hit on so many good points there, Julie. Yes, unemployment sucks (and even though Rodney is working again, the fear that it brought is going to linger a while), but there are still things for which to be grateful.

    I understand your feelings about being thankful about being single. It was hard for us when Rodney was laid off, not only being together, but having little children who had to go through it with us. By the same token, it was their unconditional love that saw us through many dark days.

    Keep hold of your positive attitude! 🙂

    • Jennifer Pence says:

      You are so right Julie! I enjoyed reading this blog, and can completly understand what you are saying. After this difficult time of job loss is replaced by a new job we are happy with, we will be stronger because of it. Thanks for your wonderful way of explaining and describing what you are going through, you are not alone! 🙂
      Jennifer Pence

  2. Kristen says:

    Great points Julie! It is hard to get down about the negative but when listing the positives as you did it provides hope for yourself and others! Keep in touch – I think of you often!

    Kristen

Leave a comment